in my kitchen

I’m in the kitchen a lot.  Probably because I cook a lot.  We are not a family that eats out-I think the last time  we ate out was Mother’s Day lunch.  Meals at home just taste better and we know exactly what we’re eating that way and it is definitely cheaper.

I like being in my kitchen.  That wasn’t always the case.  The cabinets were originally gross discolored knotty pine.  I painted them white when I was 8 months pregnant and Randy was out of town.  My nesting instinct extended beyond just the nursery!  There was also lattice wallpaper with strawberries all over it.  Pretty.(that was typed in a sarcastic tone)

There was a boring light fixture, so I replaced it with this vintage italian tole chandelier that I got while working at an antique store.

I love this little recipe box.  I think it was 1.99 at Goodwill.  I keep handwritten recipes that Randy’s mom gave me one year for Christmas in there.  Randy already had the yellow crock that we use for our utensils-his mom gave it to him,too.

That clock really cracks me up every time I look at it.  It’s an old guy selling flowers off a flower cart-so funny!  It was a $2 junk store find and it works! You can see how I made my personalized spice rack here.

One of many vintage pyrex mixing bowls that I have.  This one reminds me of the Partridge family-remember the opening of that show?  The little nesting partridges pop out and line up on the screen.  I guess I’m giving away my age now!!  But, at least I don’t have a crush on David Cassidy anymore!

My kitchen does have another side to it- the sink, fridge, microwave-there must have been dirty dishes in the sink the day I took these pics!!  Just keepin’ it real!! So go on and get happy!!  Have a great Thursday!  -amy

0 Responses to “in my kitchen”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Welcome to goodwill hunting!

Hey, I'm Amy! So glad you stopped by! Follow me as I thrift, decorate, sew, cook, and garden-all while spending as little money as I can! We'll have fun-you'll see!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 8 other followers

Archives


