you say it’s your birthday

Ollie was invited to his first birthday party this weekend.   His friend from church, Sammie Jo, was turning 2!!  I wanted to get her something really special for her birthday and I thought about making a lot of different things-super hero cape, apron, appliqued t-shirt.  But, in the end, decided to make her a pillowcase dress.

I picked out a really fun Amy Butler fabric called Passion Lily and I already had the lining fabric which is a very small pink stripe.

I really just figured this out as I went along. There are tons of tutorials online for pillowcase dresses but, not many that show how to line one.   I couldn’t figure out how to do the casing with it being lined.  What’s a girl to do?  Call her mom!!  After I explained what  I was doing, she had the answer!

For those interested, as you sew the armholes together, just leave an opening at the top for the casing.  I was trying to make it a lot more complicated than that!

I really like the way it turned out!  She even wore it to church on Sunday and it looked so cute on her!! Wish I would have had my camera with me!

It was a pretty quick sewing project and was fun getting to make something for a little girl! Thanks Sammie Jo for letting me sew something girly for your 2nd birthday!! We both had fun at your party!!-amy

Photobucket Photobucket

3 Responses to “you say it’s your birthday”


  1. 1 Michelle July 11, 2011 at 6:59 am

    I have been wanting to make my daughters a dress like this! Thanks for the easy steps!

  2. 2 christi @ burlap and basil July 11, 2011 at 7:37 pm

    what a sweet, sweet gift! i love the fabric you selected, too.

    the july giftaway – is on! an anthropologie pillow and some goodies! enter and pass along!

  3. 3 SuperStinkyBoys July 13, 2011 at 7:35 pm

    Thanks for linking up to Mad Skills Monday!


Leave a Reply

Welcome to goodwill hunting!

Hey, I'm Amy! So glad you stopped by! Follow me as I thrift, decorate, sew, cook, and garden-all while spending as little money as I can! We'll have fun-you'll see!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 7 other followers

Archives


