this was no picnic

The other day at Goodwill I found these cute melamine cups.  After I found them, I told Wesley they would be perfect for a picnic.

So, we went to the basket aisle and lo and behold, there was a picnic basket waiting for us!  It’s a great size and I think maybe vintage.  But, the red gingham liner was not very cute.  I decided to make a new liner using the old one as a pattern.

I knew that I wanted to use a vintage sheet that I already had for the new liner.  It has turquoise in it to match the cups.

Sounds fairly simple, huh?  For whatever reason, it wasn’t.  One side of the liner would not lay right and the sides were a bit of a pain.  Finally, after working on this project all day, I got it looking halfway decent and finished it!

I did learn something new, though.  I have never actually stitched elastic on an edge of  anything before.  It’s not hard and I think it saved this project from going right back to Goodwill!  The elastic helped keep the outside part of the liner in place.

Now, I want to make a picnic blanket out of the leftover sheet to match the basket!  The projects never end!! Have a great fourth!! -amy

Photobucket Keeping It Simple

3 Responses to “this was no picnic”


  1. 1 Grace July 5, 2011 at 3:08 pm

    Cute! Love the makeover! picnics are the best!!! nice to meet you!

  2. 2 Gina July 5, 2011 at 4:03 pm

    love those cups, love the basket, love that chair!

  3. 3 kelly July 5, 2011 at 4:38 pm

    what a lovely picnic


Leave a Reply

Welcome to goodwill hunting!

Hey, I'm Amy! So glad you stopped by! Follow me as I thrift, decorate, sew, cook, and garden-all while spending as little money as I can! We'll have fun-you'll see!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 8 other followers

Archives


