this weekend

This weekend I did a little bit of sewing.  There are so many tutorials and cute images online for girls handmade clothes but, not  very many for boys.  However, I started with Anna Maria Horner’s quick change trousers pattern from her latest book, Handmade Beginnings.

I used the 12 months size and he still has some growing room.  I just shortened the pattern to make shorts. ( your probably saying, “duh, Amy”)  I also chose not to make them reversible so they would be cooler for the summer.   Then I  looked at a tutorial from Made that showed me how to do the pockets.  I didn’t use her pattern though, only because I’m too lazy to hook up my printer!  I just drew my own.

Sewing for kids is fun, because basically, they look cute in anything!!

Almost finished in this picture.  I still had to sew my top casing for the elastic and hem the legs.

I think he likes them!  I like that the patterns are super crazy and the brown stripe reminds me of the 70’s!  I really  like them paired with the orange tee.

I am definitely going to make some more!  This project would really only take about 30 minutes, if I had done it all at one time.  I’m thinking of other variations already-different fabric combos, different style pockets, but, same cute model! I hit the jackpot the other day at Goodwill and found a lot of great cotton fabric to use for future shorts.  Did you get to work on anything fun this weekend?  Do you have any favorite patterns for little boys?   Leave a comment and let me know! -amy

Photobucket

3 Responses to “this weekend”


  1. 1 Huntley Friend June 26, 2011 at 5:17 pm

    You are so clever; you remind me of my Mother, and that’s a real compliment. She lived at her sewing machine and made all my childrens clothes that survived their antics and those of other Chatham children.

    • 2 amyboliba June 26, 2011 at 7:33 pm

      Thanks Huntley!! That’s so sweet!! I definitely have much more to learn when it comes to sewing clothes!! But, I am enjoying figuring it out!

  2. 3 ljfs2008 June 26, 2011 at 8:51 pm

    The shorts and Oliver are too cute!


Leave a Reply

Welcome to goodwill hunting!

Hey, I'm Amy! So glad you stopped by! Follow me as I thrift, decorate, sew, cook, and garden-all while spending as little money as I can! We'll have fun-you'll see!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 8 other followers

Archives


