I wish I was more like Gidget

It’s that time of year.  Bathing suit season.  I wanted a cute one but, kind of a modest cut one with maybe a retro feel to it.

Like one of these from the movie, Gidget goes to Hawaii.  Love the v-neck, the buttons, and their tiny waists!

Or this one from Modcloth.  But, I couldn’t justify spending $90 on a bathing suit! But, I do like the blue and the polka dots.

So, I found this at the Goodwill for $3.99.  (Now, let me say this,  I’ve never bought a bathing suit at Goodwill but, I made sure this one was in good condition.  I also washed it in hot water when I got home.)

I liked everything about this suit except for the pearl and gold buttons! They made it seem a little less Gidget and a little more old lady! (It’s actually more of a navy blue in person.)

So, I found some new buttons at Walmart for $1.50.  I just snipped off the old buttons and sewed on my new ones.

Much better and more my style! And only spent $5.50.  Now, I just need a pool and maybe a cute coverup!  Have you done any refashion projects lately? Leave a comment and tell me about it! -amy

 

1 Response to “I wish I was more like Gidget”


  1. 1 Mindie June 24, 2011 at 9:27 am

    I am just reminding everyone about tonights link party that runs Friday evening through Mondays!
    I also have an ongoing give away link party now too.
    Hope to see you soon.
    http://bacontimewiththehungryhypo.blogspot.com/
    come strut your stuff

    cute suit


Leave a Reply

Welcome to goodwill hunting!

Hey, I'm Amy! So glad you stopped by! Follow me as I thrift, decorate, sew, cook, and garden-all while spending as little money as I can! We'll have fun-you'll see!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 7 other followers

Archives


