eggs coming out of our ears

We have chickens. They are crazy ladies that lay an enormous amount of eggs.  We are thankful for that! But, sometimes it’s hard to figure out how to consume 4-6 dozen eggs at a time! This is what Randy brought home the other night from the farm.

Wow!! That’s a lot of eggs!! And we already had 3 dozen in the fridge! Funny little side story…Randy came in with that basket, which I had never seen before.  I said, “honey, where’d you get that cute basket?”  He said, “oh, it was in the garbage pile at the job site and I took it to the farm and washed it with some bleach water and now it’s my egg basket!”  Ok, maybe you have to know Randy to think this is funny but, only Randy would save a little basket from the garbage pile, then take the time to wash it with bleach to use for collecting his eggs!!  It cracked me up! What other man would do that?

Anyway, needless to say, we’ve been eating a lot of eggs! Boiled eggs on salad, egg salad, fried eggs, scrambled eggs, quiche(we had that last night-YUM!).  I’m running out of ideas.  Do you have any suggestions for other egg recipes?  Leave me a comment, c’mon help a girl out…6 dozen eggs, people!! -amy

5 Responses to “eggs coming out of our ears”


  1. 1 Laurie June 10, 2011 at 8:46 am

    Wow! That’s a lot of eggs. Wish I could get some. Sell them on Etsy! Just kidding. You could bake about 40 batches of cookies.

  2. 3 MelissaG June 15, 2011 at 10:56 pm

    http://www.relish.com/recipes/jills-puffy-pancake/

    crepes are a love of ours…

    http://allrecipes.com/recipe/french-toast-souffle/detail.aspx (I would follow a few of the reviews for this one…adding butter etc)

    That’s all I can think of for eggs right now…wish I had such good fresh eggs to use!!

  3. 4 jennibell June 18, 2011 at 5:49 am

    That’s a lot of eggs! But, if you don’t refrigerate them, don’t they last a long (months?) time? What about blessing neighbors/friends? Sometimes I don’t think of the simplest things until someone mentions it. . .only reason I just did. Make some custard! And I love the deviled eggs my stepmom makes. There are hundreds of variations out there. . .farm-fresh eggs are simply the best 🙂

    • 5 amyboliba June 18, 2011 at 7:37 am

      Thanks for commenting, Jenni! I saw on your blog that you’re also from Middle Tn, that’s awesome! Thanks for the cooking ideas, I’ve never made custard, I might give that a try!


Leave a Reply

Welcome to goodwill hunting!

Hey, I'm Amy! So glad you stopped by! Follow me as I thrift, decorate, sew, cook, and garden-all while spending as little money as I can! We'll have fun-you'll see!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 7 other followers

Archives


