look what I found

This past Saturday was half-off day at Goodwill.  I usually skip this sale because it is sooo crowded in there!! But, we were driving right by there on the way back from Boy Scouts so, we stopped.  I was right, the place was jam packed.

I headed straight for the furniture area and saw something interesting out of the corner of my eye.  Is it a vintage play kitchen?  Is it exactly the type of vintage play kitchen that I’ve visualized in my head but had not found yet?  Yes, I think it is!!  Ok, but how much is it?  Ooooh, $39.99-that’s a little steep for me…but, wait, it’s half-off day, remember? 20 Bucks!! I can do 20 bucks!!  SOLD!  We loaded that baby in the cart and were off to the register!!

I love it and Ollie does too!! He finally has a place for his vintage play food that I also found at Goodwill awhile back! I need to make him a little apron or chef’s hat! That would be too cute!!

Unfortunately, Ollie was unavailable for photos when I took these! But, he loves opening and closing the doors! Hopefully, this will keep him out of my kitchen cabinets-but, probably not!

I thought he needed some accessories for his kitchen too.  I’ve had that clock in storage for awhile.  It’s one of those pieces that is so silly but, it makes me smile every time I look at it! I mean, it’s a gray-haired man wearing a vest selling flowers AND it tells the time-what more could you ask for? Well, it would tell time if I put a battery in the back!

Is it wrong that I love this kitchen as much as Ollie? I loved playing school and restaurant when I was a little girl and would’ve loved to have had my own kitchen!! Me and my sister used to make our play food out of construction paper!! Oh, and we had to walk 5 miles in the snow to school too-uphill both ways!! Have you found any great deals lately? Let’s hear about them! Hope you’re having a great imaginative type of day!! -amy

2 Responses to “look what I found”


  1. 1 Laurie June 7, 2011 at 11:45 am

    Are you going to paint it turquoise?
    It’s soooo cute! Love the clock, so spring for a battery!

  2. 2 Jim Davenport June 7, 2011 at 11:54 am

    Amy, we all need to keep the child inside of us alive. Ollie allows you to do just that!


Leave a Reply

Welcome to goodwill hunting!

Hey, I'm Amy! So glad you stopped by! Follow me as I thrift, decorate, sew, cook, and garden-all while spending as little money as I can! We'll have fun-you'll see!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 8 other followers

Archives


