dining room makeover

I am currently working on my dining room.

the "before" shot/about to start painting shot

I use the term dining room very loosely as it is:  a)not very large and open to the rest of our tiny house,  b)our laundry “closet” is in this room as well and c)it also serves as our entry way and crafting/creative space.  That’s really too much responsibility for such a small space but like Tim Gunn says on Project Runway,”make it work”.  I thought I would let you see how I go about putting a room together from space planning to furniture shopping to the end result.  First, let me say this, there is no “budget” for this room, meaning, I’d like to spend maybe $30 bucks on a set of four chairs! Other than that, I need to get creative! I want a cleaner, vintage look.  So, this is my plan, I already purchased a new vintage table from Goodwill a couple of weeks ago.  It is a round laminate topped table with cool chrome base.  It was only a $24.00 investment!

Our new to us table

We all like the table and it’s nice not to have to use a tablecloth everyday!(or watch your 1 year old attempt the tablecloth trick everday!) I am currently using some wicker parsons chairs that I previously had outside.  I am not loving these so, I am on the hunt for some cool high backed 70’s wood and cane backed chairs that I can paint a glossy bright white! I think the contrast with the table will be great.  I am also wanting a desk type/console piece in there.   A spot where I can set up my sewing machine and layout various projects that I’m working on.  The desk in the living room is now the computer desk so, my sewing machine got the boot.  I am thinking a cheap table covered in a tailored slipcover might do the trick and I could hide things under the tablecloth-Bonus!  Ok, so what do you think of my plans? Do you like it or do you think I’ve totally lost my mind? I’ll be keeping you posted on my progress! Wish me luck goodwill hunting! -amy

2 Responses to “dining room makeover”


  1. 1 Lori Slayton May 18, 2011 at 10:44 am

    Is this table big enough for company?


Leave a Reply

Welcome to goodwill hunting!

Hey, I'm Amy! So glad you stopped by! Follow me as I thrift, decorate, sew, cook, and garden-all while spending as little money as I can! We'll have fun-you'll see!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 7 other followers

Archives


