Bright and White

I thought I would give you an update on the living room project.  You can see the before here.  I still have a little painting to do but, here are some pics of the space now.

Randy made our couch (he’s a blacksmith, in case you’re new around here).  I covered the cushion with a dropcloth from Lowe’s.  It’s held up really well through multiple washings and bleaching.  I also made the patchwork pillows and the polka dot pillow.  The yellow pillow is from Target last year.  The enormous painting is called “Big” and the artist is Meredith Pardue, a good friend of Randy’s.  It really needs to be moved up about 6″ but it is sooo heavy!  That’s as high as I could hang it by myself!

This is the other side of the room, opposite the couch.  I found the chair at Goodwill for 4.99 and reupholstered it.  My mom and I just made the flag garland while she was visiting.  The lamp, also found at Goodwill was 2.99, and the shade is from Target.  The turquoise chest was actually free from a friend at church.  It was originally brown, of course I painted it turquoise!

Randy made this cute giraffe for Ollie as a Christmas present.  Our living room is part playroom and craft room also!

This is Ollie’s toy cart.  It was originally black and 4.99 at Goodwill.  Are you seeing a pattern?  And three cans of spray paint later, it’s yellow!  All the storage bins are from Target.

This is opposite the window.  I have to say this area is never this neat and tidy.  I usually have the sewing machine set up on the desk with fabric and sewing stuff everywhere.  The white cabinet was originally hanging in the bathroom, but I really needed storage out here more.  Still can’t decide if I want to paint the cabinet or just leave it with it’s chippy paint.  The office chair, that I recovered in two different fabrics, was 2.99 at Goodwill.  It was originally from a local hospital.  I just found the floral painting at, you guessed it, for 1.99.  The yellow and black tile was from an art fair 10 years ago.  It says “magic circles” under the spinning girl. The artist is Asia Wallace.  So, that’s our living room, on a good day, just picture it with toys everywhere and that’s more like reality! Thanks for stopping by! -amy

1 Response to “Bright and White”


  1. 1 kris April 26, 2011 at 7:25 pm

    it is all SOOOO cute!!!! i am amazed at what you are finding at your thrift store for so cheap. it’s amazing the difference region and being in or out of a big city makes. love it!


Leave a Reply

Welcome to goodwill hunting!

Hey, I'm Amy! So glad you stopped by! Follow me as I thrift, decorate, sew, cook, and garden-all while spending as little money as I can! We'll have fun-you'll see!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 7 other followers

Archives


