Stitch in time

image

image

I found this great book yesterday at Goodwill. Needleplay by Erica Wilson. It’s obviously from the seventies but there is so much great information on embroidery and how-tos for different stitches. This is something that I’ve been wanting to try for awhile now so I’m glad I found it! That embroidered chair is just crazy and I love her embroidered jeans! Now I’ve gotta go and find something to embroider. Happy Monday to you-amy

3 Responses to “Stitch in time”


  1. 1 christy March 7, 2011 at 6:43 pm

    Oh, Leslie would love the chair. She is an owl addict and Bella’s first word was owl!

  2. 2 Janet Granger March 8, 2011 at 3:33 pm

    Erica Wilson (the woman in the photo) was just about *the* most famous embroiderer of the Seventies – she even had her own TV programme, at one point (wouldn’t happen today, would it?!).

    I sell embroidery kits for a living, and a few years ago, I was at a trade show in Birmingham when Erica Wilson came to my stand and bought some of my kits for her New York shop. I couldn’t believe it! I must admit, I was a bit star-struck. If it wasn’t for her, I wouldn’t have got into doing embroidery for a living. She was really original in her time, and her patterns deserve to get seen again.

    Enjoy making things from her book!


Leave a Reply

Welcome to goodwill hunting!

Hey, I'm Amy! So glad you stopped by! Follow me as I thrift, decorate, sew, cook, and garden-all while spending as little money as I can! We'll have fun-you'll see!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 7 other followers

Archives


